86th Student Government sworn in

Current and future presidents, vice presidents address student body

Gabe Hewitt

The Student Government swore in its 86th Senate Wednesday evening in the Hearth Lounge during an inauguration ceremony.

President-elect MeMe Cronin, Vice President-elect Katelynn Ogunfolami, 28 senators and four board positions were sworn in. The positions were voted on during a campus-wide election on Apri 10.

The swearing in was preceded by farewell addresses from the president and vice president of the 85th Senate, AbdulRahmane Abdul-Aziz and Kayla Cremers.

“The accomplishments of the 85th Student Government speaks to the commitment and passion to advocate and serve on behalf of students,” Abdul-Aziz said.

Abdul-Aziz went on to highlight key initiatives the previous senate had created including helping to make affirmative consent a new policy in the Minnesota State colleges system and changing its name from the Minnesota State Student Association to Student Government. He credited Speaker Nolan Brinkman for the change. The name change was one of the three referendums students voted on during the April 10 elections.

“The hope was that this change would increase transparency, increase voter turnout, student involvement and most importantly, because Nolan thought it was a good idea,” Abul-Aziz said. “This demonstrates the power students have to turn ideas into reality.”

Abdul Aziz called his time with the Student Government “an experience like no other.”

“I’ve learned so much about myself and what I want to do, and I’ve found my passion through sitting at the table and advocating for students,” he said.

Cremers thanked Abdul-Aziz, Brinkman, Student Government Office Manager Amber Enz, and advisor John Bulcock. She also wished Cronin and Ogunfolami a “smooth, productive and successful year.”

“I am thankful for everyone’s support and effort that was put forth by the 85th Minnesota State Student Association,” she said.

Cronin discussed her and Ogunfolami’s shared vision being what sparked their campaign ticket.

“Both of us had so many great ideas. We’re on the same page about so many issues and changes that we think that we can bring to campus next year,” she said.

She went on to say she was excited for the 86th Student Government.

“I know that our Student Government is going to be efficient, we’re going to be transparent and most importantly, we’re going to work to unify the campus community and work to bring any issues or concerns students have to light so that we’ll be able to change and have the best Student Government possible,” she said.

Ogunfolami echoed Cronin’s words in her remarks.

“I know that we’re going to do amazing things, I know that we have a lot in front of us, I know that this is a group of people that ready and determined to make change,” she said.

Photo: Res Life, Off-Campus and At-Large senators are sworn in during the Student Government inauguration ceremony on April 18. (Gabe Hewitt/MSU Reporter)

One thought on “86th Student Government sworn in

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.